Cloud Backups not linking between two Macs – visible in Connect but not Site Backups

Hi,
I’m trying to use Local Cloud Backups to move the same site back and forth between two Macs.
Both Macs are connected to the same Dropbox account. One is Apple Silicon and the other is Intel.

The backup itself is being created successfully and appears in the main Connect / Cloud Backups area, but it does not appear in the actual site’s Backups tab on the other Mac.

I’ve tried:

  • Creating the site on the second Mac using Create site from backup
  • Using the same site name and .local domain
  • Refreshing the backup list
  • Switching to another site and back
  • Restarting Local
    The strange part is that the backup is clearly visible in Connect, but the corresponding site either shows no backups or only shows the backup created on that machine.
    I’ve attached screenshots showing:
  • the backup visible in Connect
  • the site’s Backups tab not showing that backup
    Is this expected behaviour, or should both Macs be able to share the same backup history for the same site?
    If so, is there anything else I need to do to keep the site linked between the two machines?
    Thanks.



System Details

  • Local Version: Version 10.1.2+7004

  • Operating System (OS) and OS version: MacOS 26.7 (one mac intel the other M)


Local Logs

local-logs.zip (64.7 KB)


Security Reminder
Local does a pretty good job of scrubbing private info from the logs and the errors it produces, however there’s always the possibility that something private can come through. Because these are public forums, always review the screenshots you are sharing to make sure there isn’t private info like passwords being displayed.

Hey @hoops78! One last thing have you tried signing out of your Dropbox account, restarting Local and then going back in and reconnecting?

That’s a good shout. I’ll try that next.

Thanks.

Sadly didn’t work.

I’ll carry on doing the longer workaround (creating a new website from backup).

But if there are any other suggestions, I’m willing to try…

Thanks

Wayne

@hoops78 New sites you create from a backup don’t inherit backup history by default.

If you want them to do that, you can toggle the backup history preference under “New site defaults” to “Share backup history” instead of the default “Fresh backup history”.

After making that change, create a new site from a backup on your other Mac. You should find the new site’s backups tab is populated with the same backups as the original on your other Mac. You should make that same settings change on both Macs if you’re creating new sites from backups in both directions. (But you can also restore the same site on both Macs to a snapshot from the backups list once you can see it; you don’t have to create new sites each time.)