# Pull/Push should remember selected WP Engine environment

**URL:** <https://community.localwp.com/t/pull-push-should-remember-selected-wp-engine-environment/44454>\
**Category:** Feature requests\
**Tags:** local-connect-wpe, wpe, connect-to-wpe\
**Created:** [September 6, 2024, 9:24am UTC](https://community.localwp.com/t/pull-push-should-remember-selected-wp-engine-environment/44454 "2024-09-06T09:24:46Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 8\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![briainod](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/flex019/user_avatar/community.localwp.com/briainod/32/14269_2.png) [@briainod](https://community.localwp.com/u/briainod)\
**Post date:** [September 6, 2024, 9:24am UTC](https://community.localwp.com/t/pull-push-should-remember-selected-wp-engine-environment/44454/1 "2024-09-06T09:24:46Z")

</div>

When pulling from or pushing to a remote WP Engine environment the application previously remembered whether you were connected to production/staging/dev. Now it always defaults back to production each time you open the application. This could easily result in accidentally overwriting work/pushing dev work to a live site.

# Steps to reproduce

Open the pull or push menu when connected to a WP Engine site

# Environment Info

OS X 12.7.4  
Local Version 9.0.5+6706

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![shaunmilo](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/flex019/user_avatar/community.localwp.com/shaunmilo/32/25337_2.png) [@shaunmilo](https://community.localwp.com/u/shaunmilo)\
**Post date:** [March 7, 2026, 11:41pm UTC](https://community.localwp.com/t/pull-push-should-remember-selected-wp-engine-environment/44454/3 "2026-03-07T23:41:22Z")

</div>

Agreed on this. The application should remember which environment you last pushed/pulled to/from so as to avoid having “in-progress” dev work accidentally being pushed to Production.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![shaunmilo](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/flex019/user_avatar/community.localwp.com/shaunmilo/32/25337_2.png) [@shaunmilo](https://community.localwp.com/u/shaunmilo)\
**Post date:** [March 7, 2026, 11:52pm UTC](https://community.localwp.com/t/pull-push-should-remember-selected-wp-engine-environment/44454/4 "2026-03-07T23:52:43Z")

</div>

Whenever I close the application and re-open it later on, my local sites always default back to Production for the destination environment, even though my last push was to a Development environment.

Local should remember which environment the last action was associated with.

This would easily avoid any accidental overrides of Production sites while there is Dev work in progress that’s not ready to be live yet…

I feel like it used to remember it, but that does not appear to be the case anymore.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Nick-B](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/flex019/user_avatar/community.localwp.com/nick-b/32/16140_2.png) [@Nick-B](https://community.localwp.com/u/Nick-B)\
**Post date:** [March 9, 2026, 3:57pm UTC](https://community.localwp.com/t/pull-push-should-remember-selected-wp-engine-environment/44454/5 "2026-03-09T15:57:29Z")

</div>

Thank you for your comments @shaunmilo! I’ve merged your other post here to keep everything together and changed this topic to a Feature Request. I’ve passed this along to the Dev team as well to inform them of the continued interest.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![CTomele](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/flex019/user_avatar/community.localwp.com/ctomele/32/25573_2.png) [@CTomele](https://community.localwp.com/u/CTomele)\
**Post date:** [May 8, 2026, 7:55pm UTC](https://community.localwp.com/t/pull-push-should-remember-selected-wp-engine-environment/44454/6 "2026-05-08T19:55:59Z")

</div>

# Summary

If you start a push set to Staging and pick “Select Files,” but then cancel the sync, while it will remember the site you’ve chosen, it switches itself back to Production.

# Steps to reproduce

Start a push.  
Pick a site.  
Pick Staging.  
Choose “Select Files”  
When the file list comes up, click the X to cancel.  
The site will not be reset, but the other drop down will now have changed from Staging to Production.

# Environment Info

Describe your environment.

- Local client in Win11

# Supporting info

I have a screen recording of it in action with it slowed down so you can see it actually snap back to production.

[![](https://img.youtube.com/vi/ATCncb7Y8eo/maxresdefault.jpg "Local switching to Production from Staging when cancelling a sync.") ](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ATCncb7Y8eo)

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Nick-B](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/flex019/user_avatar/community.localwp.com/nick-b/32/16140_2.png) [@Nick-B](https://community.localwp.com/u/Nick-B)\
**Post date:** [May 11, 2026, 1:57pm UTC](https://community.localwp.com/t/pull-push-should-remember-selected-wp-engine-environment/44454/7 "2026-05-11T13:57:35Z")

</div>

Hi @CTomele! I’ve merged your post into this related Feature Request. This one isn’t technically a bug, but we can definitely understand the dangers here. We’ll discuss this more internally, but for now merging this to keep all related conversation in one place.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![system](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/flex019/user_avatar/community.localwp.com/system/32/1_2.png) [@system](https://community.localwp.com/u/system)\
**Post date:** [September 6, 2026, 9:25am UTC](https://community.localwp.com/t/pull-push-should-remember-selected-wp-engine-environment/44454/9 "2026-09-06T09:25:14Z")

</div>

This topic was automatically closed after 730 days. New replies are no longer allowed.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Nick-B](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/flex019/user_avatar/community.localwp.com/nick-b/32/16140_2.png) [@Nick-B](https://community.localwp.com/u/Nick-B)\
**Post date:** [September 8, 2026, 12:33pm UTC](https://community.localwp.com/t/pull-push-should-remember-selected-wp-engine-environment/44454/10 "2026-09-08T12:33:20Z")

</div>


