SSL No longer trusted

Issue Summary

Hey everyone !
I just bought a new computer and did a fresh install of everything, including Local. So everything is up to date to the latest version. I’m running latest Ubuntu 20.

However, I have a ERR_CERT_AUTHORITY_INVALID error on all of my sites. And I cannot get rid of it. All sites are noted as “Trusted” and even exporting the certificate on Chrome and importing it in the Authority tab doesn’t work.

Usually, if trusting via Local is not enought, importing the certificate is enough to bypass the unsecure connection warning.

I’m not an expert in SSL. How can I solve this ?
Thanks a lot !

1 Like

same issue

1 Like

Hey @foleymon – are you on the latest Ubuntu as well, or a different OS?

@Vincent are you getting the same error if you create a new, plain WordPress site and generate an SSL cert that way? One other follow-up question, what version of WordPress sites are installed?

I’d love to make sure I have a good idea of how to replicate this!

In terms of the more general issue, in Local’s case, I’m guessing that the ERR_CERT_AUTHORITY_INVALID is boiling down to the browser complaining about a self-signed cert.

As browsers get more strict about the certs they accept, we (the Local team) have been toying with different ideas for how to solve this – it’s definitely not easy for all the OSes Local runs on!

Hi, thanks for your quick answers everyone !
I just tried on a brand new site instead of an imported one and it doesn’t work.
Everything is up to date : Local, my OS, WordPress, Chrome, Firefox.
Did you change how you’re handling SSLs in recent version of Local ? Because everything runs smoothly on my older computer. I was running Local v5.0.7 (Old !)

You need to make it easier to delete the certificates, refresh them, and re-trust them. That is it. Linux users are able to solve these problems themselves if we are given the tools to take the actions we need.