White "View Site" screen AND Is there Backup Plugin?

Yesterday I had major glitches with Local and am wondering if someone here can help me sort it out. Please forgive me as I’m a novice and any help is MUCH appreciated!

I’m building a demo site trying out Elegant Themes Divi with Local and yesterday my whole computer slowed down. Local was having trouble starting up, couldn’t access admin and view site took me to a white screen. Looks like others were having troubles so I waited to see if it ‘fixed itself’ overnight. :wink:

Well, today I can start Local, access admin but still can’t see my site. I’m not sure if it’s something with the theme or Local.

Any suggestions?

On another note, is there a way to download a backup of a site using a WordPress plugin? This test was rather alarming when I had no backup.

Thx.

BTW… I DO know about WordPress backup plugins but am not sure if they work with Flywheel/Local or if there’s a preferred one to use.

Hi @CitrusMeg, happy to try and see what may be going on.

First, you should be able to import a site with a plugin like you would be used to. If you are trying to export a site from Local you can right click on the site and use the Export function which would give you a zip of the site. A plugin route should work as you are used to.

As for the not being able to see the site, when you mention you can access the admin, that’s the WordPress admin at /wp-admin, correct?

Typically when a site is whitescreening it can be due to a theme not being active, which is a bit rare, or a 500 error happening. For the latter, enabling the wp_debug option should help display some more information.