Local Community

Do you have to manually reset the link location when you migrate the site back to hosting?

Hey I just wanted to ask when you migrate your site back over to online hosting do you have to manually go and change all the links in your site? all of them have “.local” after the site name, do those disapear automatically or do you have to manually go and reset them?

Hi @Adriaan1234! It can depend on who your host is and how you move your site. For example, if you’re using Local Connect with WP Engine or Flywheel then most, if not all, of the links should be changed automatically. Occasionally you may still need to run some search and replaces to ensure all of the links get stitched up.

There are also plugins available to help with this as well like Better Search Replace – WordPress plugin | WordPress.org

Ah I see thank you for the help!

1 Like