White screen after plugin download

What issue or error are you experiencing?

I am a novice building a site using Local Host and WP. I am in the final stages and there had been an error while setting up PayPal and received a message stating that there was no SSL certificate. I downloaded a plugin (WP Force SSL - probably unnecessary). (Support documentation seems to indicate that I needed a certificate before downloading the plugin).

When I activated the plugin the dashboard froze and after 10 mins or so I exited and logged in again through Local. The login page failed and I am left with a white screen and it indicates that it is still loading. Two days later and it indicates that loading continues.
I contacted the developer after purchasing the Pro version and was advised that they can’t help because they can’t access the URL of the Local site.
As I write I attempted to find the Local logs and the site indicated that I needed to download which I did. There was no sign of a download, instead I received an “exit all sites” message. I followed the instruction and logged back in again which took me straight to the dashboard (no login???)
The d/board appears to be intact but a visit to the site comes up with the following:

Your connection isn’t private

Attackers might be trying to steal your information from new-site.local (for example, passwords, messages, or credit cards).

NET::ERR_CERT_AUTHORITY_INVALID

This server couldn’t prove that it’s new-site.local; its security certificate is not trusted by your computer’s operating system. This may be caused by a misconfiguration or an attacker intercepting your connection.

What’s happening???

What steps can be taken to replicate the issue? Feel free to include screenshots, videos, etc

System Details

• Local Version:

• Operating System (OS) and OS version:

Local Logs

Attach your Local Logs here (Help Doc - Retrieving Local’s Log)

Security Reminder